Suffering and Helpless? Come think it through with me…

Dear Readers, If you have been to this site before, you know that I receive quite a bit of mail (from men and women in and out of prison…from persons who are going through rough times in their lives) and I share some of my answers with you – making certain that confidentiality is safe. “Matt,” the man who wrote me today resided in the prison in which I work, but has, for the past year, been in a different facility. He will be locked up for a few more years and in his letter, he let me know that he had been feeling trapped in sadness and in danger of losing his good outlook on the rest of his life. He has two young children that he rarely sees. Thank God, his mother is a stable and steady strength in his life. Please allow this writing to be uplifting to anyone who is suffering (regardless of the origin of your suffering) and in need of hope…

I believe it is difficult for the average person to understand the relentless oppression that lays like a wet blanket over men and women in prisons. Yes…I know – more than most people – these are the consequences of breaking the law. But…I ask you to consider…is it wise to break the spirit of these human beings that will walk the streets again? Is it wise to bring these people to the verge of nervous break downs when they are destined to be our neighbors?

For those not in prison…it is not unusual to feel oppressed under a variety of circumstances. I have often said there are many types of “prisons,” some are truly bars and razor wire while other “prisons” are physical handicaps; emotional handicaps; our own lack of self-discipline and our unwillingness to consider serious change in our lives! Stand up! Be strong! Let’s move forward!

If you are a Christian, you know that we are encouraged to take care of one another under any circumstances: “For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

37“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.'” Matthew 25:35-40

I want to be clear…the state I reside in takes better than average care of those who reside in prisons (any kind of “prison;” however, it is the absence of family and friends…people to care and people to listen…the absence of these lifelines can destroy the soul and the hope of persons who live one day at a time. One day at a time looking for a reason to go on – straining to see a flicker of light at the end of a very dark tunnel.

To those suffering, know this: “Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning.” [II Cor 4:17 ]

I will write my answer to Matt in the next post.